How Could a Dui Conviction Affect Your Car Insurance Rates in Florida?
Nov. 2, 2021
Even though Florida has no-fault car insurance laws, there are still minimum coverage requirements that motorists must meet in order to purchase and maintain a vehicle in our state. These requirements include at least $10,000 of coverage in personal injury protection (PIP) and at least $10,000 of coverage in property damage liability (PDL).
Although these limits are fairly low, especially compared to the coverage requirements in states that operate under a tort system, the premiums can be expensive for certain motorists. A variety of factors can affect car insurance rates, including:
Vehicle make and model;
At the end of the day, insurance providers want to determine just how likely a particular motorist is to file a claim. Since individuals with a history of accident claims, traffic tickets, or reckless driving charges are more likely to get into a collision in the future, they can expect to pay higher premiums for auto insurance coverage.
If you are facing DUI charges but you have an otherwise clean driving record and you’re concerned about the long-term consequences of a conviction, contact DiRenzo Defense. Our attorneys have defended thousands of clients who were facing legal issues similar to yours.
We strive to combine the personalized attention of a small law firm with the knowledge and resources of a powerhouse practice. Call 954-653-2172 to schedule a free case evaluation with a DUI defense lawyer in Fort Lauderdale.
How Could a DUI Conviction Affect Your Car Insurance Rates?
Insurance providers consider motorists who have a DUI conviction on their record to be high risk. In some cases, such drivers can purchase a policy if they are willing to pay a higher premium; however, in others, the insurance company may refuse to provide coverage at all.
If you fall into the former camp, your insurance premium may not necessarily increase immediately, but you can expect a change in your rates when it is time to renew the policy. Typically, insurance providers will review their policyholders’ driving records annually.
In the state of Florida, people who wish to reinstate their driver’s license following a DUI conviction must prove that they can handle the increased insurance rates. They do this by purchasing a new policy and then requesting an SR-22 from the insurance company.
An SR-22 is a document that verifies they have coverage. The SR stands for “safety responsibility,” and the department of motor vehicles demands this document before reinstating a motorist’s license. The DMV typically requires evidence of an active policy for five years following a DUI conviction.
Also, the Florida DMV requires any person convicted of DUI after October 1, 2007, to provide proof of bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of 100,000 per person, 300,000 per occurrence and 50,000 property damage liability. This certification of liability insurance must be in the form of an FR-44 and continuously maintained for a period of 3 years from the reinstatement of the DUI Revocation.
If you are facing DUI charges in Florida and you’re concerned about the financial repercussions of a conviction, turn to DiRenzo Defense. William DiRenzo has conducted more than 150 jury trials in his career and has argued countless Motions to Suppress and Dismiss.
Call us to schedule a free consultation with a DUI defense attorney in Fort Lauderdale. If you want to learn more about fighting drunk driving charges in Florida, visit the USAttorneys website.