Man Gets 364-Day Jail Sentence for Dui Involving Scooter
Nov. 2, 2021
News-Press reports on a recent DUI case in Florida involving a scooter and an offender with multiple convictions. According to authorities, the man crashed his scooter into a median before it landed on top of him.
Police determined the man’s blood alcohol content was more than three times the legal limit of 0.08. Because of the defendant’s four prior DUI convictions, which occurred in Broward County, the judge ordered the maximum possible penalties for his charges.
The man received a jail sentence of 364 days, as well as 12 months of probation. The defendant’s driver license has also been suspended permanently, and he may not possess or consume any alcohol. In addition to undergoing random screenings, the man must complete a residential substance abuse treatment program, cover all court costs, pay a $4,000 fine, and attend DUI school.
If police have accused you of driving while intoxicated, it is important to remember that you still have options, and a conviction is not necessarily the only possible outcome. A criminal attorney can help you explore these options while defending your rights every step of the way.
Contact DiRenzo Defense to discuss your case with a DUI defense lawyer in Broward County. Our attorneys have been practicing law for more than 40 combined years, and we will use this foundation of experience to help you devise a strong defense. Call 954-889-7502 to schedule a free consultation.
What Are the Penalties for Repeat DUI Convictions in Florida?
In the state of Florida, the potential penalties for DUI charges increase in severity with each subsequent conviction. For example, a first-time offender can expect a license revocation of between 180 days and one year, whereas a third-time offender will face a minimum 10-year license revocation with the chance for a hardship reinstatement after two years.
Other possible penalties include community service, probation, fines, vehicle impoundment, and imprisonment. Even defendants facing DUI charges for the first time may be incarcerated.
A first-time offender faces up to six months in jail unless his or her BAC was 0.15 or higher. In such a scenario, the maximum sentence is nine months. At the court’s discretion, a defendant may serve some portion of the sentence in a residential substance abuse treatment program.
How Long Is the Look-Back Period in Florida?
The look-back period refers to how far back the criminal justice system will look when it comes to subsequent DUI convictions. In general, the look-back period following a first DUI conviction is five years, which means if you face DUI charges within five years of a prior conviction, it will result in more severe penalties.
If you face DUI charges for a third time within 10 years of your first conviction, it will be considered your third offense. There is no look-back period for a fourth offense. If it is your fourth DUI, you will face severe penalties and a permanent license revocation with no option for hardship reinstatement, regardless of how long ago your prior convictions occurred.
If you are facing DUI charges, turn to DiRenzo Defense to discuss your situation with a skilled DUI defense lawyer. Our attorneys have defended thousands of clients, and we can help you devise a comprehensive defense based on the particulars of your case.
Call us to schedule a free consultation with a criminal attorney in Broward County. Visit USAttorneys.com to learn more about DUI defense strategies in Florida.