What Are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident in Florida? Insights from A Criminal Lawyer in Fort Lauderdale
Nov. 2, 2021
If police catch you leaving the scene of an accident for any reason in the state of Florida, you could face criminal charges. The circumstances surrounding the collision and the amount of damage it caused will determine if you face misdemeanor or felony charges.
Pursuant to Florida law, you must not leave the scene of an accident under any circumstances. Although it is okay to pull over to the side of the road or drive a short distance so you can wait for first responders, you need to remain fairly close to the scene in order to fulfill your statutory duties regarding the collision. If you or one of your passengers needs emergency medical care, you can rely on an ambulance to reach you faster than you would reach the nearest hospital, so there is no need to leave the scene in such a scenario.
Possible penalties for a hit and run conviction include prison, fines and court costs, probation, and license revocation. If the collision resulted in bodily injury or fatalities and you are facing felony charges as a result, a conviction could have lasting repercussions on all aspects of your life, so it is critical that you take immediate action.
The legal team at DiRenzo Defense will evaluate your situation and develop a comprehensive defense based on the unique facts of your case. As a former prosecutor, William DiRenzo has a knowledge and skill set that makes him uniquely effective as a hit and run attorney. Call 954-889-7502 to schedule a free consultation with a criminal lawyer in Fort Lauderdale.
What Are the Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Accident in Florida?
If you leave the scene of an accident in the state of Florida and the collision resulted in property damage, it is considered a second-degree misdemeanor, and you will face a fine of up to $500 and up to 60 days in prison. If you leave the scene of an accident that resulted in bodily injury, you will face second- or third-degree felony charges depending on the extent of the injuries.
If you are convicted, penalties include a license revocation for a minimum of three years, a fine of up to $5,000, and a prison sentence of up to five years. If you leave the scene of a collision that caused one or more fatalities, it is considered a first-degree felony. Pursuant to Florida Statute 316.027, penalties include a license revocation of at least three years, a prison sentence of at least four years but no more than 30 years, and a fine of $10,000.
The penalties for hit and run charges in Florida can be severe, and having a criminal record could have devastating repercussions even after you complete your sentencing. If you are facing charges for leaving the scene of an accident, you should take the necessary steps to protect your future. You can start by discussing your situation with the team at DiRenzo Defense.
Depending on the facts of your case, it may be possible to fight for reduced charges, a reduced sentence, or even a dismissal of your case. Call 954-889-7502 to schedule a free consultation with a hit and run attorney in Fort Lauderdale. You can learn more about criminal proceedings in Florida by visiting USAttorneys.com.